WELCOME TO HICSS

WHERE IDEAS MEET AND SCIENCE SPEAKS

Since 1968, the Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences (HICSS) has been known worldwide as the longest-standing working scientific conferences in Information Technology Management. HICSS provides a highly interactive working environment for top scholars from academia and the industry from over 60 countries to exchange ideas in various areas of information, computer, and system sciences. According to Microsoft Academic, HICSS ranks the 36th in terms of citations among 4,444 conferences in all fields worldwide.

You are welcome to browse through the interactive visuals below to appreciate the scientific work at HICSS and how the various topics have evolved over time. The interactive visualizations below (HICSS Influence Over Time, HICSS Word Voyager, HICSS Tracks by Year, and HICSS Top Authors) were built by Jason Portenoy and Jevin West in the DataLab at the University of Washington. A preliminary paper explaining the project and the methods can be found here. The ‘HICSS in Numbers’ visualizations were prepared by David King at Dataffiti LLC.

We encourage you to be part of the success of HICSS.

Unique characteristics of the conference include:

  • A matrix structure of tracks and minitracks that enables research on a rich mixture of cutting-edge computer-based applications and technologies.
  • Three days presentations of peer-reviewed papers and discussions in a workshop setting that promotes interaction leading to revised and extended papers that are published in journals, books, and special issues as well as additional research.
  • A full day of Symposia, Workshops, and Tutorials.
  • Keynote addresses and distinguished lectures which explore particularly relevant topics and concepts.
  • Best Paper Awards in each track which recognize superior research performance.
  • HICSS is the #1 IS conference in terms of citations as recorded by Google Scholar.
  • A doctoral consortium that helps participants work with senior scholars on their work-in-progress leading to journal publications.
  • HICSS panels that help shape future research directions.

The Australian Government’s Excellence in Research project (ERA) has given HICSS an “A” rating, one of 32 Information Systems conferences so honored out of 241 (46-B and 146-C ratings). Data supplied by the Australian Research Council, December 2009.

References

[1] Hock Chan, Hee-Woong Kim, and Weai Chee Tan, Information System Citation Patterns from ICIS Articles, Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology, Vol. 57 (#9) July 2006, pp. 1263-1274.
[2] Kent A. Walstrom and Bill C. Hardgrave, Forums for information systems scholars: III, Information & Management, Vol. 39 (2001) pp. 117-124.
[3] Bill C. Hardgrave and Kent A. Walstrom, Forums for MIS Scholars, Communications of the ACM, Vol. 40 (#11) November 1997, pp. 119-124.
[4] Meho and Yang, Impact of data sources on citation counts and rankings of LIS faculty: Web of science versus scopus and google scholar. Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology. Volume 58, Issue 13, pages 2105-2125, November 2007.(see Table 13. Sources of citations unique to Google Scholar (1996 – 2005).

HICSS in Numbers

Prepared by Dr. David King, Dataffiti LLC.

Conference Chair

tungbui2-1

Tung Bui
Department of IT Management
Shidler College of Business
University of Hawai’i at Manoa
tungb@hawaii.edu

Program Coordinator

Thayanan Phuaphanthong
Shidler College of Business
University of Hawaii at Manoa
hicss@hawaii.edu

Scientific Advisor

John Seely Brown
Deloitte Center for the Edge
Pardee RAND’s Member of the Board of Governors
Amazon’s Member of the Board of Directors
jsb@johnseelybrown.com

Doctoral Consortium Chair

GJ de Vreede
University of South Florida
gdevreede@usf.edu

Track Chairs

Collaboration Systems and Technologies

Gert-Jan de Vreede
Muma College of Business
University of South Florida
gdevreede@usf.edu

Jay Nunamaker
Eller School of Business
University of Arizona
jnunamaker@cmi.arizona.edu

Decision Analytics and Service Science

Haluk Demirkan
Milgard School of Business
University of Washington – Tacoma
haluk@uw.edu

Matti Rossi
School of Business
Aalto University
matti.rossi@aalto.fi

Digital and Social Media

Kevin Crowston
School of Information Studies
Syracuse University
crowston@syr.edu

Digital Government

Mila Gascó-Hernandez
Center for Technology in Government
University at Albany, SUNY
mgasco@albany.edu

Christian Schaupp
John Chambers College of Business and Economics
West Virginia University
Christian.Schaupp@mail.wvu.edu

Electric Energy Systems

Tom Overbye
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Texas A&M University
overbye@tamu.edu

Lindsay Anderson
Department of Biological and Environmental Engineering
Cornell University
cla28@cornell.edu

Special Track: Information Technology, Social Justice, and Marginalized Contexts

K.D. Joshi
College of Business
University of Nevada, Reno
kjoshi@unr.edu

Nancy Deng
College of Business Administration & Public Policy
California State University, Dominguez Hills
ndeng@csudh.edu

Information Technology in Healthcare

William Chismar
Shidler College of Business
University of Hawai’i at Manoa
chismar@hawaii.edu

Rochelle Rosen
Centers for Behavioral and Preventive Medicine, The Miriam Hospital
Warren Alpert Medical School, Brown University
rochelle_rosen@brown.edu

Internet and the Digital Economy

Alan Dennis
Kelley School of Business
Indiana University Bloomington
ardennis@indiana.edu

Joe Valacich
Eller College of Management
University of Arizona
valacich@arizona.edu

Knowledge Innovation and Entrepreneurial Systems

Murray Jennex
Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business
West Texas A&M University
mjennex@wtamu.edu

Dave Croasdell
Accounting and Information Systems Department
University of Nevada, Reno
davec@unr.edu

Organizational Systems and Technology

Hugh Watson
Terry College of Business
University of Georgia
hwatson@uga.edu

Dorothy Leidner
McIntire School of Commerce
University of Virginia
dorothy@virginia.edu

Software Technology

Rick Kazman
Shidler College of Business
University of Hawaii at Manoa
kazman@hawaii.edu

Special Track: Location Intelligence

Tom Horan
School of Business
University of Redlands
Thomas_Horan@redlands.edu

HICSS-58: 537 Minitrack Chairs in 183 Minitracks

HICSS Minitrack Chairs are actively pushing the envelope of research in system sciences that encompasses a wide range of theoretical and applied disciplines related to information technologies and systems.

Future Conferences

HICSS offers a unique platform for participants to share and exchange perspectives and ideas.

The HICSS has been known worldwide as one of the longest standing scientific communities in the information systems and technology fields. It has become a creditable destination that attracts high-caliber scholars and professionals in academia, industry and government agencies around the world to discuss their cutting edge research since 1968.